Rev Gisela Raines, Rector of St Paul’s Church

Last night I attended the licensing and induction of the Rev Gisela Raines as Rector of St Paul’s in Withington. The service was led by the Bishop of Middleton and the Archdeacon of Manchester. As usual the Choir was outstanding.

It has been “all change” across the constituency parishes since I was elected in 2005, and I will be at Emmanuel  on Sunday for the Licensing of Nick Bundock. Good luck to both of them in their new roles.

I have been to St Paul’s on a number of occasions over the years. I was talking to Ray Jones last night, the husband of my former colleague and Lord Mayor Audrey Jones. He was telling me that he had been a reader at St Paul’s for a mere 55 years! That’s some dedication. Mind you, dedication runs in the family. Audrey was a Withington Councillor for almost 30 years.

Leave a Reply

