Christmas Card Competition Winner – Lydia Butt

One of the most enjoyable things about being an MP is having the chance to visit local schools and speaking to the children. I remember the first time I visited a school I spent a few minutes explaining the role of an MP, and then I took questions from a classful of 6 year olds. I said that they could ask me anything, and then the first question I got was “How much do you earn?”

I’ve visited a lot of schools since then, and this morning I was at Didsbury CofE to present a bike to Lydia Butt who won my 2009 Christmas Card competition. The runners-up also got a House of Commons pencil case (made from recycled tyres) and HofC coloured pencils.

Lydia's picture was a really colourful design and it'll now go out to homes across the constituency - that's 40,500 houses!

Leave a Reply

