Man City All-time 11

John Leech MP's All Time City Starting XI

Just packed away my papers and I’m off to catch the train back to Manchester in about 20 mins, so I’ve got a few minutes to spare. People often ask me what my all-time 11 would be for City (only players that I’ve seen play), so I thought I’d have a go. I’m sure lots of people will disagree with my choices, and I’m not suggesting that they were necessarily our best players, but certainly my favourites.

Fullbacks
Paul Power – Personified the club. Always gave 100% and had a lethal left foot
Shaun Wright-Phillips – Controversial choice for right back, given that he has played most of his career in midfield, but he played at the back on many occasions, is a great tackler and is always dangerous going forward. I was gutted when he went to Chelsea and delighted he came home.

Central Defence
Daniel van Buyten – Another controversial choice, given that he was at City for such a short time.  However he was immense at the back, never missed a tackle and was superb in the air.
Richard Dunne – I nearly went for Dave Watson, but you can’t beat player of the year 4 years running. He never wanted to leave, and I suspect he would still be in the team if he had stayed.

Midfielders
Paul Lake – Many City players have been described as the next Colin Bell, but Paul Lake could have been better if he hadn’t had his career ruined by injury before he reached his potential
Colin Bell – Simply the best and better than Best!
Gio Kinkadze – The most exciting player I’ve ever seen. Sometimes lazy, but unstoppable on his day
Ali Bernabia – When he came to Maine Road nobody had heard of him. Within 10 minutes we knew he was a footballing genius

Strikers
Carlos Tevez – A bargain, whatever we paid for him. I was not at all convinced when we bought him, but I now know why United fans were so gutted to see him go.
The Goat – City legend. Knee, backside and the occasional wonder goal with his foot or head. Always in the right place at the right time. Probably the most popular City player of my generation.

Subs

Ian Bishop – During his first spell he was superb. No city fan will forget his diving header to score the third goal against United when we beat them 5-1
Paul Dickov – City through and through. But had an annoying habit of scoring against us when he came back to play against us.
Dave Watson- Nearly made the starting 11 and perhaps would have done if I’d been a bit older when I saw him play.
Uwe Rosler – Der Bomber was one of the bargains of the century.
Joe Corrigan – He was around at the wrong time. If he had not been the same era as Clemence and Shilton he would have been a regular for England.

I would be interested to hear your views and of course your starting XI, let the debate commence!

6 responses to “Man City All-time 11

  1. Haha, I love this post John. Good to see Uwe Rosler in the team. Great in the air, and lethal in the box.

    “Feed the Goat, and he will score!”

  2. Nicky Weaver gets the nod for his performances in getting us out of the third tier (I think it was called the second division that year). Tony Coton and Joe Corrigan were both better keepers, as is Shay Given. Bert Trautmann was fortunately a lot before my time, and Eike Immel wouldn’t even get in Everton’s team!

Leave a Reply

