Backing our Great British Pubs

Recent letters to the Manchester Evening News’ ‘Postbag’ about the great institution that is the British pub have given me cause to reflect once again on the industry’s important role and future.

The correspondence was from a publican and former publican, discussing one of the key issues facing the future of communities in Manchester Withington and beyond.

The impact of the local pub on a community’s identity can’t be underestimated and for this reason, I’m committed to supporting our pubs, so they can continue and thrive.

I’ve always been a supporter of the pub industry, and in my five years in Parliament I’ve worked hard to support its sinking trade. I was one of the founding members of the All Party “Save the Pub” Group. I’m also a big supporter of the ‘Back the Pub’ campaign which calls on the government to reduce the high tax on beer and cider, and I’ve recently started a petition to support this.

You can find out more about the ‘Back the Pub’ campaign here (www.backthepub.com).
You can also sign my online petition backing our pubs here.

Leave a Reply

