Manic Day 2 in Brighton

I even met the Guide Dogs Stig yesterday!

Yesterday was my manic day at conference consisting of no less than 21 meetings and I’m feeling slightly drained now!  There’s a huge amount to talk about but here’s just some of things that came out of yesterday’s meeting.

With 21 meetings to squeeze it was always going to be an early one starting at 7.45am with a meeting with Danny Alexander MP and the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders to talk about how the Automotive industry is increasing industrial competitiveness having committed £5.6bn investment in the UK over the last 18 months.

I then met with representatives from the Freight Transport Association about how to encourage more sustainable transport solutions and the transport taxation options.

A really productive meeting followed with Prostate Cancer UK and we talked in depth about the Christie Hospital, I will be blogging the outcome of that meeting later.

In the afternoon I had the opportunity to discuss the Energy Bill and Housing Bill with Friends of the Earth and Green Peace.  As well as voicing my opposition to a third runway at Heathrow, I also offered to work with them to amend the Energy Bill.

Later on I met with the Diabetes charity JDRF to talk about type 1 Diabetes and increasing medical research.  I also asked for an awareness pack I could forward on to the local Schools in the constituency.

Later in the day I hosted the seventh most popular conference fringe event according to order-order.com which was Green Light for Trams as I Chair the All Party Group for Light Rail in Parliament.

I finished off the day attending a live music gig to celebrate Don Foster and the Lib Dem’s success in cutting red tape to encourage live music and it was great to see fellow MP John Hemming there.  Sadly no Lib Dems got up to joined the band on stage, I guess they must be saving themselves for Glee Club tonight with Tim Farron.

One response to “Manic Day 2 in Brighton

  1. Pingback: The Christie performing well on Prostate Cancer. | John Leech MP·

Leave a Reply

